Assessment Design Checklist 3.0

The process of building my Assessment Design Checklist is on its last formal iteration. I have added my last question and evidence pieces. I say “formal” iteration because I believe that this checklist is a living, breathing document that can change and adapt as I learn more about effective formative assessment as well as put it into practice in designing assessments for my own classroom. 

Crafting this checklist has taken so much time to thoughtfully build questions from what I have been learning in CEP 813 and trying to apply the principles to my specific context. Because we built this checklist in a piecemeal fashion, I was able to integrate new ideas from the readings to the ones in previous units. This means that I did not make any large scale changes to my checklist throughout the process, but little tweaks to my questions as we moved through the course. Along the way, I received crucial guidance from my instructor that was imperative to creating a more useful checklist. During every iteration, I was given insightful suggestions that made me think more deeply about the content, my context, and the ultimate purpose of the checklist. You can see the progress this document has made from my version 1 and version 2

Getting feedback from a peer and giving feedback to a peer was an eye-opening experience. These exercises made me realize how personal these checklists are to each student in this course. It was fascinating to see how my classmate had interpreted the content and tailored her questions to her specific context as well. They were different than my questions, but still had the same overarching ideas of the course. When I was using my checklist to give peer feedback, it made me realize how useful this tool will actually be when I am creating assessments. At first, I was not sure how helpful this document would actually be (sorry), but it turns out that having this concise checklist that is not too long will be a true asset for me while building future assessments for my classroom.

Check out my Assessment Design Checklist 3.0

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started